21 comments on “Climb up to the top of Indochina: Mount Fansipan in Vietnam

  1. Pingback: Things To Consider Before Trekking Fancy Pants Mountain « Lonely Girl Travels

  2. Doc bai viet cua may ma thay boi hoi boi hoi qua’. Ngay xua di leo Fan ve tao cung muon viet 1 bai co ma chang co luc nao ngoi viet dc ca y’ :((

  3. Awesome! Too bad this was the same weekend as BarCamp Saigon. So did it take you from sunrise to sunset to reach the top? And when you say rock climbing, how steep? Did you need safety ropes to climb?

    Working as a porter on that route sounds like it could be fun too. :)

    • It took us 2 days actually. But you can totally do it from sunrise to sunset to reach the top and back if you are strong enough :-P. Very steep. But you dont need safety ropes for this route, only need to use all legs and feet and arms and hands. The porter guy said that there was another route that was much more dangerous and you would need all the safety equipment to do it. But nah, not for me, I’ll never come back there, once is enough! Lol

      • So 2 days to get from bottom to top, then another 2 days to climb down? Or just a day to go down? No, I’m not trying to set any world speed records here. ;)

        I do like rock climbing though.

  4. My old buddy, I plan to visit Hanoi at the end of January ’13, r u still at Hanoi that time??? I need to kind tour guide to take me experiencing the Hanoi contemporary art scene ^o^

  5. Pingback: Road trip diary: Hanoi – Mu Cang Chai – Sapa « Mien's Blog

  6. That’s must have been quite a hike!! The farthest that I’ve done is 13 km round trip with going up to only 1200 meters so I can feel a little bit of your pain. That said, carrying photography equipment on a hike is really a pain, the cameras are heavy and you can’t drop them :)

    • Thanks for the comment and the like, Hoan. Oh yeah, this Fansipan is exactly the place where you don’t want to have a photo shooting assignment lol. By the way, I just added your blog to my blog roll :-)

  7. Hi there,

    I want to ask, I’m planning to go to mt. Fansipan but I kind of short of time. I’m planning to do a one day climb but I’m not sure wether can achieved or not. I’m planning to go to Sapa by train overnight from Hanoi. I looked through internet that for one day climb u have to reached summit at 1.00pm. The train will be arriving at sapa around 5.00am plus. Then I have to take a bus to go to the town right. Will I make it for a day climbed?

    Thank you

    • Yeah, train arrives in Lao Cai around 5am then you take a bus to Sapa (30km away). Yeah, one day climb is totally possible. But probably you should do it on the next day (start the trek from 5am). Also, make sure that you are aware of the tough route. Good luck ;-)

  8. Hi, thanks for the information about Mt. Fansipan. I’m from the Philippines and planning to climb the mountain in November. I have just booked a flight to Hanoi and I wish if you could provide me about the guide in climbing Mt. Fansipan. If you no longer have contact information of your guide you might have some information where I can reach them. Thanks a lot.

    • Hi Ronnie, I’m really not sure, coz the guides were arranged for my group by the tour operator.. But I think they are reachable in Sa Pa if you don’t want to book the tour. I do recommend a tour tho, just so you can take a hot shower after the climb

Leave a Reply

