23 comments on “Travel from Vietnam to Laos

    • Đi Lào đi anh. Đẹp + thanh bình + sạch sẽ cực kỳ. Hay hôm nào huy động đội phượt nhà mình thuê xe máy chạy chuyến Vang Vieng – Luang Prabang đi để em còn thực hiện “bucket list” nào :-P. Nghe nói dịp Tết vừa rồi cũng có nhóm phượt đi xe máy từ Hà Nội sang Lào, Thái và Myanmar trong vòng 1 tuần. Nghe vừa “trâu” vừa chạy sô, mình chả ham. Nhưng mà tuyến Vang Vieng – Luang thì hoàn toàn ok. Chỉ cần lùng thuê đc xe máy tốt tốt 1 tí thôi.

  1. You know, that bus does actually look pretty nice from the outside, I never thought a double decker bus would fit in Vietnam lol….. 24 to 27 hours is too long though.

    • This colourful double decker looks awesome hah. This type is quite rare in Vietnam, but it does fit lol. I forgot to take pix of the bus from Luang Prabang back to Hanoi, and I should have captured how these tourists were laying on the floor, but then I was also too tired to do so and they may not like it either

  2. I have enjoyed reading your blogs Mien, thank you. The quality of the pictures, as well as the text of course, is very high. I am planning to travel from Luang Prabang to Hanoi some when between April and early May. You suggest that pre-booking is important, although other travellers have suggested chilling out and not planning too far ahead. You thoughts would be interesting. Thanks

    • Thank you Andy for your kind comment. Well, you talk just like a Westerner, we Vietnamese travelers do plan before the trips more carefully than you guys haha. But sure, not planning too far ahead sounds good to me too, I only suggest you book hotel in Luang Prabang first in high season, or else you may risk having zero place available to stay (like I did)

  3. This is a lovely bit of writing and your photos are great too. You know there is another option to get from Hanoi into Laos. If you cross at the Tay Trung border crossing you can then take the Nam Ou all the way to Luang Prabang stopping at Muang Ngoi and Nong Khiaw if you wish. It will be quite a long journey but the scenery along the river is completely worth it.

  4. IF you want to travel laos, you can transfer to Hue City. After you go to Lao Bao Province and go to Laos. I Think you will have more experience and you can visit more famous places

  5. I am an elderly woman, who is living in the US. I will be in VN next week to celebrate Tet. I enjoyed your artical very much. It is very informative and educational. Lao is one of places in my travel plan, and informations you provided will come in handy. Thanks Mien, keep up the good work.

    • Thank you so much! It’s very kind of you for such nice words. I’m glad that you like my post. Laos is an amazing country and hope you’ll enjoy this part of South East Asia. Happy Tet! :-)

  6. Beautifully written and simple to understand. Thank you. What a remarkable trip and useful information. I will be traveling to this part of the world very soon and your blog has given me much useful insight.

  7. Thank you for bringing more information to this topic for me. I’m truly grateful and really impressed. Thanks.

  8. Hi There

    Thanks for this read. Is there anyway to get from Vientiane to Hanoi without what sounds like a terrible bus trip (from a large number of blogs). Is there not an option to do at least the majority of the trip by train?

    Many thanks

  9. Thanks for sharing! Your posting and pics are great. It is very useful and informative. I love it!
    I am planning overland to Hanoi from Vientiane, maybe on end this year or january 2014. Any idea where is the bus ticket I can buy in Vientiane?
    Cheers,
    Tania

  10. Pingback: Travel from Vietnam to Myanmar: Bagan – Inle Lake – Yangon | Mien's Blog

  11. Cảm ơn Miên. Phần chia sẻ về kinh nghiệm du lịch Lào của bạn thật tuyệt. Mình cũng đã có 1 bài chia sẻ + tổng hợp thêm về kinh nghiệm đi du lịch Lào theo kiểu bụi tuy nhiên các thông tin của bạn còn tuyệt vời hơn. Ảnh cũng rất ấn tượng. Rất vui được học hỏi từ bạn.

Leave a Reply

